Ordinary (Endosulfan led) vs Organic Cashewnuts

9 Oct

Cashew nuts are delicious snacks which most of us like, either raw or in the form of sweets, desserts, milkshakes etc. We’ve been hearing about ‘Organic Cashewnuts’ and some of you might have even tried it. I decided to gauge the difference between ordinary & organic cashews myself and in course came across Ecorico’s Organic Cashewnuts.

On the attractive & vibrant metal tin of Ecorico’s organic cashews I noticed the term, “Free from  Endosulfan”. This made me curious to know in depth about Endosulfan. I was shocked with the results that appeared on Google. I learnt that Endosulfan is an extremely harmful agro-chemical. It is a chlorinated insecticide that is chemically similar to DDT & it is used for cashew plantations, besides being used on vegetables, cotton, apples etc. Endosulfan is a fatal pesticide which causes reproductive and developmental damages in both animals and humans. Mental retardedness, infertility and cancer are some abnormalities caused by this poisonous chemical. It makes me panic when I realize that so much of this poisonous chemical has already gone into my system, and I’m sure many others out there are in the same boat. To learn more about Endosulfan please check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endosulfan.

Whilst the Organic cashews claim to be free from such harmful chemicals, the taste is also a selection criteria. I figured out a simple & effective way to judge the taste difference by having both organic and regular cashews at the same time. I ate a few of the regular cashews and then had Ecorico’s Organic Cashews. After repeating this a couple of times I realized that the peculiar taste that regular / ordinary cashews have is not present in Ecorico’s Organic Cashews. And I guess that peculiar taste is the culprit. Besides having a very soft texture Ecorico’s Organic cashews have a slight sweetness as compared to regular cashews. I enjoyed its unique taste. And since I am a fan of cashew nut, I find Ecorico’s Organic Cashews very scrumptious. You will have to try it to know the difference.

So, wont it be a wise decision to switch to Organic cashew nuts, going forward?  Infact, this festive season what better an idea could it be than gifting our loved ones healthy and poison-free dry fruits.

 

– Deepak Gandhi

Leave a Reply

